Dot(ing) the Polka! 💞

Hi y’all! Hope everyone is having a fantastic week. 🙂
I’m so caught up in work that my blogs have taken a backseat. So whenever I get time, I start thinking of topics to blog about.

Polka dots are timeless! Be it 70s or today’s time, everyone flaunts polka prints and they never go out of fashion. The designers keep experimenting with them and bringing them in new avatars in the fashion scene. Polka prints are fun and can be worn any given day. Polka palazzos, polka tops, polka dresses ohhhhh, all sound so music to my ears! 😁

Women’s lifestyle magazine Godey’s Lady’s Book was the first to use the term polka dot (in reference to a scarf) in its 1857 issue! And before polka dot was coined, terms like Dotted-Swiss, quiconce (a French term for the pattern on a five-side of dice), and thalertupfen (German word describing the dotted fabric that resembled the country’s currency—thaler) were used in mid-19th Century Europe. America’s love affair with the polka dot began, perhaps, in 1926, when Miss America was photographed in a polka dot swimsuit. Shortly after, in 1928, Disney introduced its cartoon darling Minnie Mouse wearing a red polka dot dress and matching bow. See I don’t just blog but impart knowledge too! Hehe. 😜

So when I got the chance to flaunt my polka dot shirt, I knew I’d want to blog about it. Hehe. 😎 I had purchased this bright red polka dot shirt (God knows when) but hardly ever wore it (again God knows why). While looking for an outfit to wear, this top caught my eye and I thought to myself why don’t I wear this to office today? Going ahead with the idea, this is how I looked.
IMG_20150731_095943_397
IMG_20150731_100027_914
IMG_20150731_100117_589

Outfit Details: Shirt : Sarojini Nagar, Trousers : Vero Moda and Shoes : Westside

I’m in love with the Vero Moda trousers and never get enough of them. I find trousers particularly more comfortable that denims (Though I love my denims with all my heart 💁). I’m fond of these shoes a lot and I wear them a lot. Whenever I go to Westside, I definitely buy shoes cause I’m in awe of their collection. The shirt is sleeveless with a chinese collar. and can be worn with shorts for a fun outing, or with a skirt, palazzo can be paired with it too. I wasn’t in a great mood when I woke up in the morning as my shoulder hurt due to the push ups I did the previous day in gym but when I wore the shirt, I was back to be mad crazy bubbly self. Hehe. Yes, clothes affect my moods to a large extent. 💖 Does it happen with you?

Polka dots have never gone out of fashion and won’t probably ever go. Go on now girls, time to wear that polka dot dress that has been lying in your closet for ages. 😚

Love,

Aakanksha 😘

 

Leave a Reply

