Darjeeling: Day 1!!

 

 

Monotonous jobs, boring lives and a soft tissue injury were enough for us to realize that a family vacation was long overdue!

After a dining table conference, dates and the destination were decided, before we knew it everything started falling into place and we were all set to let our hair down for a week!☕🍝🍜🍛

Our first stop happened to be Darjeeling ( we had got all reservations and tour done by a travel agency as none of us had the time to do it on our own)

Darjeeling is a town in the Indian state of West Bengal, located in the Lesser Himalaya at an elevation of 6,700 ft. It is famous for its tea industry, the spectacular views of Kangchenjunga, the world’s third-highest mountain, and the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

IMG_3045

After checking in the hotel, I hurriedly looked out the window, which needless to say, was breathtaking, and made me eagerly wait for the next day!!:)

The first thing on our itinerary was the amazing Tiger Hills. After playing hide and seek for about 15 mins, I finally witnessed the sunrise, which no words can describe. The picturesque view where the clouds lovingly held the Sun in their arms, is something that I will never forget in the entire life! It was God’s glory at its very best!😍

IMG_20160405_060056
Sunrise at Tiger Hill!!
IMG_20160405_055531894
Dad trying to capture the sunrise!!

Next on our list was the Samten Choling Buddhist Monastery popularly known as Ghoom Monastery. This was my time time visiting a Monastery and I’d be lying if I said it was an ordinary experience! The moment I stepped in, I felt as all the chaos within me had been put to rest. 😇The peaceful aura of the place beguiled me, the monks, the tea sellers, shopkeepers, everyone spoke in such hushed tones that for Delhiite like me, I felt I had gone deaf! If you happen to visit Darjeeling, this place should be on your must visit list.

IMG_3525
Ghoom Monastery!

IMG_3528Last on the itinerary was Batasia Loop, a spiral railway created to lower the gradient of ascent of the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway in Darjeeling. At this point, the track spirals around over itself through a tunnel and over a hilltop. The place like other places I had visited was ethereal, abuzz with activities, it was packed with tourists! At every tourist spot, the locals have shops where they rent the traditional attire or Kho at reasonable prices. They help you wear it and if you happen to be lucky like I was they give you a basket and even give tips to pose for pictures! I must have clicked around 50 pictures in that outfit which my brother still teases me about!😂;)😛

kho
Yes that’s me wearing KHO!!
IMG_2990
Batasia Loop/War Memorial

IMG_20160405_075002

I asked the locals if I could take pictures with me and they always obliged me! The kids going to school were so cute that at times I wanted to bite their rosy red cheeks! Hehe!😜😝

IMG_20160405_071801349IMG_20160405_071619238

IMG_20160405_075007291

Day 1 ended with a sumptuous dinner at the hotel and we went to bed thinking what the next day had in store for us!

IMG_20160404_203518147.jpg

Keep reading this space if you want to know where we went and what we did on the second day, I assure you, it won’t disappoint you!😋

Love,

Aakanksha!😘

13 thoughts on “Darjeeling: Day 1!!

  1. Pingback: Enroute Gangtok!! – Vogue & Voyage

Leave a Reply

